Christmas

December 25, 2012 § 4 Comments

image

It’s Christmas.

Last weekend, I allowed myself one final visit to the greatest book sale in Malaysia, and got myself these books!

I’ve read (and loved) Sarah Waters’s The Night Watch. Atwood is fast becoming a favourite, and Carter has been on my list of “authors to read all their books”.

I had wanted to take this chance to get to know some new authors, so that’s where Julian Barnes and Hanif comes in.

Of course, before this I had also gotten my hands on Zadie Smith, Anthony Burgess,Peter Carey and a couple of very promising non-fiction.

It’s been a great December of book-buying. Not such a great reading year, but still good, considering that most of the books I read were good, if not exceptional.

So 2012 is coming to a close soon.

How has your year been?

§ 4 Responses to Christmas

  • jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com says:

    Great books .(a book is like a chariot it can take you any where you want)have a wonderful new year.jalal

  • michelle says:

    I’d say that my 2012 was a good reading year, in terms of quality rather than quantity. Most of what I read, I had liked. Many were those whose works I was reading for the first time, and most of them quickly became fast favourites, whose works I know I want to read more of in time to come. Writers such as Barbara Pym, Wilkie Colliins, Catherine Hall and Vita Sackville-West, to name a few. The year ended on a high note for me (and it’s not just in terms of those wonderful books I got from the BBW), but also because the book I am about to finish soon (All Passion Spent by Vita Sackville-West) has turned out to be a true gem. It has far exceeded my expectations (and they were not low, to begin with) of the book and its writer. I am finding every page of it to be a reading experience to slowly savour.

    • Michelle says:

      I think I’m going to concentrate on quality again too, this year. It just makes more sense.

      It’s great that you’re discovering new authors to love. I’m less adventurous, so to speak, when it comes to buying books by authors new to me. That’s why I love going to the library so much, it gives me the freedom of trying out new writers and their work.

      Have a great year!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Christmas at su[shu].

meta

