New babies

December 18, 2012 § 7 Comments

image

image

These are the newest members of my to-be library. Got them all at the greatest book sale in the world!

I’m still thinking if I should go a third time. The sale ends on the 23rd, so I’ve still got some time left.

So far, I’ve only gotten books by familiar authors. I’m thinking if I should also get some new authors in, for the sake of variety and new discovery.

What do you guys think of my new babies?

§ 7 Responses to New babies

  • sakura says:

    Lots of wonderful titles! I really enjoyed The Book of Other People and really want to read Changing My Mind. David Mitchell is a must and I see you also got 1Q84. Maybe this year I will finally read the Murakami!

    • Michelle says:

      Glad to hear that you enjoyed The Book of Other People, I was of two minds about it, but decided to get it anyway.

      I’ve read Mitchell’s number9dream and loved it so much, when I saw it on sale, I had to get it. If I could find the rest of Mitchell’s books, I would have gotten them too.

  • JoV says:

    This is wonderful collection Michelle but I’m still wondering if you have to spend a bomb buying these loads in Malaysia after being spoilt with cheap books in the UK. But I trust shops like Book Xcess do sell books in a very affordable price. Enjoy your collection!

    • Michelle says:

      Yeah, books are quite pricey, but still, with sales such as this on (Big Bad Wolf Sale), one can’t really complain much!

  • michelle says:

    Definitely should go for a third round! And it is a great opportunity to try new authors since the ‘investment’ is so much more affordable here. I couldn’t resist trying out a few very ‘foreign’ (in every sense of the word) authors from the Central European Classics series I found there. They look very promising, though and very likely to be hidden gems. 🙂

    • Michelle says:

      Yup, definitely going for a third round this weekend! And I think I’m really going to go for new authors this time around. Or maybe they’ll restock some good choices!

      Anyway, saw on Facebook that you’ve got next year’s Preview Passes! So awesome!

  • Please do a review on The Year of the Flood by Atwood, quickly! 🙂 At first I found it confusing as it is out of this world and weirded me out a bit (as most Atwood’s books are)… But it got interesting after the first few pages when I learnt about the new concepts but somehow the spark fizzled out for me before I could reach the halfway mark. Haha.. Or maybe it’s just the hard cover heaviness that I hate lugging around that I never got around much to reading it :p

    Anyhoo, would be nice to hear what others have to say about it, I rarely see anyone I know reading Atwood.

    Cheers and Happy New Year reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New babies at su[shu].

meta

