Currently Reading: Atwood and Bradbury

April 27, 2012 § 4 Comments

I’ve been reading Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury for quite a while now. I don’t know whether it’s just me, or it’s the book, but I can’t seem to get ahead with it. Maybe I’m not in the right frame of mind. The language used is definitely different from the kind I’m used to. It seems that the book just demands loads more attention, lest I miss out on a detail or two.

I like the idea behind the writing, surely. And there are quite a number of phrases in it that I’ve tagged, and will hopefully quote here when I’ve finally done reading it, and can pen down my thoughts.

In the meantime, though, I’ve borrowed a book of shorts by Margaret Atwood from the library – Good Bones. I’ve only just picked the book up yesterday, and have only gone through the first few shorts. But each story has managed to just suck me in like a vacuum. Each story had its own style, if that is at all possible, but at the same time, there was something distinctively similar. Maybe it’s the voice behind the stories. Or the ideas.

I’m starting to believe that Atwood will end up on my list of authors-to-love.

§ 4 Responses to Currently Reading: Atwood and Bradbury

  • mee says:

    Hey Michelle! I just read Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale (loved it!) and I’ve been meaning to read Fahrenheit 451 for a while now (I even downloaded it to my kindle already a couple of months ago). Too bad to hear that it seems to drag for you. A friend of mine IRL that I suggested the book to actually read it quite quickly and he really liked it. I wonder what I would think about it!

    You talked about Atwood may end up on your favorite authors list. Coincidentally Claire and I were reading the Handmaid’s Tale around the same time not so long ago, and she said exactly the same thing! (check out my Handmaid’s Tale post 🙂

    • Michelle says:

      Hi Mee! Glad to know that you loved The Handmaid’s Tale. It’s definitely an awesome read!

      As for Fahrenheit 451, I realise that once I get into the groove, it doesn’t drag as much. I think maybe, like I said, it’s just very much my frame of mind.

  • michelle says:

    It was only fairly recently that I just realised Fahrenheit 451 had nothing to do with Michael Moore’s Fahrenheit 9/11, but rather it’s a novel that has much to do with books. :p
    I have a book of shorts by Atwood (Moral Disorder) which I have been meaning to start on but have not, as yet. Reading of how you are enjoying her short stories is a good reminder to do it sooner, I think.
    By the way, I have just tagged you for a meme. Feel free to ignore it if you’re not in the mood for it, no worries. 🙂

  • Hi!
    Someone’s just introduced me to your blog and I saw Atwood’s name.
    I’ve read a couple of her books like the Handmaid’s Tale and her poems.

    Recently, I bought The Year of The Flood. But you know what? I couldn’t finish it. I was so disappointed in myself :p

    I’ve always finished books understanding the story but wow, this story was a world of its own. Maybe it’s because I was tied up with work to fully spend time to understand it, I don’t know.

    You should try giving it a read, Atwood’s stories are always good, just that this one defeated my attention span the last time around. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Currently Reading: Atwood and Bradbury at su[shu].

meta

