The Red Dragon – Thomas Harris (and random thoughts..)

December 7, 2011 § 4 Comments

It’s interesting to notice this only now, but I was just going through my own blog here, clicking on links and stuff, and realised that I’ve only got my ‘books read’ updated till the end of last year!

It almost feels like I’ve read nothing since last year till now, and already it’s the beginning of the end of the year of 2011. How shameful is that?

Come to think of it now though, I can’t say I’ve read that many books anyway. And looking at my blog again, I see (with yet another surprise), that I’ve only got two posts in this year! It’s a little scary to think of how work can get me this busy.

Given my complete lack of time to do some proper reading, though, I’m glad still that I’ve managed to fit a book in between my last book, Shades of Grey and now. I read The Red Dragon, Thomas Harris’s novel. It’s a prequel to The Silence of the Lambs, which I’ve heard about since forever, but just never thought of reading.

It’s quite a good book, The Red Dragon I mean. But I’m not sure about how much I liked it though. I remember being younger and really enjoying books like this that make me think about when the killer’s finally going to get caught, and how he/she would get caught. I remember feeling the suspense in the waiting for something really drastic to happen. I remember loving books like this.

That’s not to say that The Red Dragon failed to deliver on the suspense part of things. In fact, it did have a certain thrill to it.

Maybe I was just in the wrong mood in the past couple of weeks when I was reading this book. It feels like the kind of book where you have to finish in just one sitting, devouring every page as if your life depended on finding out when Graham would finally catch on to Dolarhyde. I wanted to be dragged into the story, I wanted to be disturbed by Dolarhyde’s disturbed mind. I wanted to be immersed.

That never did happen for me. On the other hand, I almost glided through the entire story without once feeling like I was a reluctant participant of the plot. In stories like these, its success is in making us unrelated readers of the story feel like as if we’re not only watching the plot unfold up close and personal, but also in making us feel like as if we’re party to whatever is happening. We should feel guilty about knowing what’s really happening, but yet unable to tell the protagonist about it. We should feel guilty at the fact that we know someone else is going to die, and we can’t tell anyone.

The Red Dragon had a good plot, it had good characters. But really, I wish it did more for my, psychologically. It is, after all, a psychological thriller.

—–000—–

Anyhow, it’s now the beginning of the last month of the year 2011. Though I’ve done minimal reading, the same cannot be said about my buying of books. I’ll post something up here in the next couple of weeks (definitely before the year closes), boasting of the books that now brace my shelves.

Oh, sheer happiness.

§ 4 Responses to The Red Dragon – Thomas Harris (and random thoughts..)

  • Tony says:

    Welcome back 🙂 Glad to see you’re still around!

  • michelle says:

    Hello there…. this is from one Michelle to another 🙂
    Happened to stumble upon your blog sometime earlier this year via Savidge Reads, and was pleasantly surprised to discover that you happened to be a fellow Malaysian who shares a high opinion of Sarah Waters & Ali Smith’s works too. Glad to see you back after a long hiatus. Gladder still to see that you managed to grab yourself a good bounty from the Big Bad Wolf Sales. 🙂 It was superb, wasn’t it? I, personally, went a lil’ overboard in the book buying frenzy, hahah. Did you go for the Aftermath Sales too? Sheer happiness indeed. 🙂
    Looking forward to seeing your loot here soon!

    • Michelle says:

      Always glad to get to know yet another Michelle, especially one who shares the same interest in books!

      Definitely got myself some good books from the sales, both the actual and the Aftermath sales. =) I’m assuming you went to both? Awesome sales, that one! I’m already looking forward to the one next year, and clearing some space for more books to come!

  • michelle says:

    Yeah, went to both the actual and the Aftermath…… and multiple times at both too. :p
    As a result, am facing critical shelving issues as well, hahah. But oh what joy, to look at the stacks & stacks of goodies here, there & everywhere! Seriously, I do think it is very therapeutic to just sit and stare at them, don’t you? 🙂
    Still awaiting for your “lovelies” to grace the pages here. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Red Dragon – Thomas Harris (and random thoughts..) at su[shu].

meta

