Bad reading spell

November 30, 2010 § 8 Comments

I’m experiencing a prolonged period of almost zero-reading. Ive picked up too many books from the library and returning the equal amount of books without having read half of any of them. I keep picking a book up thinking I’ll enjoy it, and putting it down before even reaching the 20-page mark.

I’m choosing thinner and slimmer books with every library trip I make. I’m trying to convince myself that I’m not reading because the thicker books intimidate me. But even with novellas, I’m having a hard time just keeping my eyes on the pages.

It’s not the books; I know I’d enjoy most of them had I been in a more bookish mood.

It has been a super long time. I’m hoping it’ll blow over soon.

§ 8 Responses to Bad reading spell

  • JoV says:

    Don’t be despondent about it. It’s only natural. I wish I could get off my addiction once in awhile, refocus and regroup again.

    Take care, take your time.

  • chasing bawa says:

    Don’t be sad, it happens to all of us. Have you tried reading any of your comfort books? Or comics/graphic novels (I like Asterix). I go through phases of watching a lot of tv/dvds and then going back to reading. See what works for you.

  • Suko says:

    Don’t feel bad–I do think we all experience reading slumps once in a while. Maybe you’re feeling too much pressure to read (because of your blog?). Take a break, then try reading something of a different genre. Good luck! 🙂

  • mee says:

    I second sakura. In time like that I’d do something else: watch movies, play games, read comics. Books will come back when it’s time. Oh and how about trying non-fiction? I’m sooo in non-fiction mood the past month or so!

  • Tony says:

    Don’t worry – it will pass…

    …and then you’ll have fifty reviews to write and will wish that it hadn’t 😉

  • Bellezza says:

    Bookish moods can be elusive little devils. Hope that all is well, and that you’re doing what you want to be doing. Merry Christmas!

  • Hi Michelle,

    came across your blog while surfing goodreads.com – cool website, huh? Anyway, thought I’d start a blog about reading too. Please check it out and tell me what you think.

    I am also having a bad reading spell… but I’ve barely even started! So impressed at how much you’ve read.

    Cheers,

    booksgraduate

  • sagustocox says:

    I’m not sure how many books you read for the challenge, but there are 3 giveaways up for participants of the Vietnam War Reading Challenge. I hope you’ll enter and spread the word.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bad reading spell at su[shu].

meta

