The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini

October 7, 2010 § 12 Comments

… there is only one sin, only one. And that is theft. Every other sin is a variation of theft. Do you understand that?

The Kite Runner is one of those books that I’ve heard about from all sorts of people and all sorts of sources, and have been meaning to read for a long long time, but just somehow managed to dodge it for equally as long. I had imagined that I would love reading this book, as I’m very interested in the middle East, and stories set there, whether fictional or otherwise. But still, I had my reservations, as my own experiences have taught me that sometimes, very popular books just don’t click with me.

So in a sense, I was tiptoeing around the book, unsure of whether I wanted to immerse myself in it, unsure also of whether I liked the language. Somewhere around page 80, I was pleasantly surprised that I was already that far into the book. In other words, the story itself was enough to draw me in despite my earlier suspicions.

I’m not sure I can say that I was impressed with the prose, but it was simple enough, and flowed really smoothly for me. The immediate plus point is the story. Maybe a little sensational at parts, but then again, this is a story set partially in Afghanistan, so sensationalism feels like it fits in quite well.

I had initially finished the book and thought, well, that was a nice story. There weren’t many major heartbreaks, nor were there any specific scenes that came into my head as I put the book to rest and looked for another to start. But as it is today, about 4 days after I’ve last touched The Kite Runner, it suddenly feels like I’ve only just read it yesterday.

So many scenes pop up in my head now, some more often than others. It’s almost like the story is coming back to haunt me. And for a while, I felt like Amir himself, the main character of the book, where he was constantly haunted by a memory. It’s almost as if the spirit of the story has come alive.

Is it a book, a story, that will stay with me? Yes, I think it is. Maybe not the book in its entirety, but definitely some of its more memorable scenes.

Rating: 4

§ 12 Responses to The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini

  • mee says:

    I completely agree with your last paragraph. I guess the book is okay, I can see why it’s popular. I’ve read A Thousand Splendid Suns too, which many people say is even better (but I disagree, IMO it’s on the same level as The Kite Runner). They both have cliches, they’re melodramatic, elements that I don’t quite appreciate basically. But anyway, they have some merits as well. I like emphasis of the male relationships in The Kite Runner for example. If you’re interested The Kite Runner was made into a movie, which I thought was pretty good, even if only to visualize the setting and the atmosphere of Afghanistan.

    • Michelle says:

      I’ve been told the movie was quite well-made, so I’m hoping to get to watch it some time. Maybe not so soon after reading the book though..

      Thanks also for the comment about his other book. I was thinking, whether it would be a better read that this one (this wasn’t too bad).

  • Nishita says:

    I did not like this one quite as much as A Thousand Splendid Suns, where I quite enjoyed the feminine point of view.

    • Michelle says:

      I think I’m interested in A Thousand Splendid Suns mostly because of the feminine view. Glad to know that you felt it enough to like it.

  • Suko says:

    ~ Love your photo, and the quote underneath.

    I watched the movie, which I thought was wonderfully moving, but to be honest, I may not read the book. (I probably would if it were not for my huge TBR stacks.) Books that are widely popular are not always my cup of tea, either. But it does sound like this one made an impression on you.

  • chasing bawa says:

    I too watched the movie and thought it was moving and beautiful. I know both my sister and father read the book and loved it.

    • Michelle says:

      Well, it looks like the movie has been good for quite a number of people. Means I might have to watch it sooner than later. =)

  • Like the pic 🙂

    Unfortunately, think I fell in the minority who really didn’t like the book. Strange, because my mum recommended it to me, and I almost always enjoy reading her recommendations. It’s hard to explain why I didn’t like the book – was it because all the characters were irredeemable? Or, did it just seem kind-of superficial? :S

    Glad you enjoyed it though, and I do see yoiur point about the memorable scenes,

    • Michelle says:

      Glad you like the pic. =)

      I think it was better for me than for you, possibly again due to our different expectations. I wasn’t expecting much, whereas you might have had higher expectations, considering it was recommended by your mum. =)

  • Novroz says:

    I love this book a lot. I enjoy reading it. But it’s not the kind of book I will reread. The early part is great, got bored in the middle, and become exciting again at the end. I cry reading this.

    I was drawn into this book but no matter how great people said about The..sun, that book still has drawn me yet.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini at su[shu].

meta

