Housekeeping VS. The Dirt – Nick Hornby

March 29, 2010 § 14 Comments

If you are so gripped by a book that you want to read it in the mythical single sitting, what chance has it got of making it all the way through the long march to your soul? It’ll get flushed out by something else before it’s even halfway there.

Interestingly enough, this is one of the very few books that I read in that mythical single sitting. Housekeeping VS. The Dirt is a collection of Nick Hornby’s writings/essays on the books he read. It’s a book about his reading habits, and what might have went through his mind when he was reading a particular book. Or maybe how he had come to read any given book: did a friend suggest it to him, or did he pick it up on a whim?

This isn’t a very long book, and because it’s a collection of essays, it didn’t really require me to concentrate for a huge chunk of time (which I would completely be unable to do). Hornby’s writing is witty, at times rather sarcastic, and really quite humourous. I wasn’t too chummy with his style in the beginning, but as I moved along into the book, I did warm up to him and his thoughts. He just has a way of coming across as being very honest about how he feels about a certain book, and he does it in a conversational way.

It’s almost like having a dialogue (I know it’s a monologue if I’m not doing any talking, but it did feel like a two-way conversation despite the obvious) with another book lover, someone who values reading for the joy of it, over reading because of obligation, self-education and all those other stress-related words.

It still seemed like a fun thing to do, though, writing about reading, as opposed to writing about individual books.

But he did write about books. There was one book he talked about that I found hilarious. (The way he talked about it, I mean, not the book. I’m not sure why I found it funny, but it just tickled me somehow.) Bear with me as I quote what he said about Oh the Glory of It All:

American lives seem, from this distance at least, very different from European lives. Look at this: Sean Wilsey’s mother was the daughter of an itinerant preacher. She ran away to Dallas to be a model, an escape funded initially by the nickels from her uncle’s jukeboxes and peanut machines. She was dragged off to California by her angry family, and while waitressing there she met a U.S. Air Force major who married her on a live national radio program called The Bride and Groom. She split from the major, dated Frank Sinatra for a while, married a couple of other guys – one marriage lasted six months; the other, to a trial lawyer who defended Jack Ruby, lasted three weeks. She got a TV job and she had a fan club. And then she married Sean’s dad. We don’t do any of that here. We don’t have itinerant preachers, or peanut machines, or Sinatra. We are born in, for example, Basingstoke, and then we either stay there or we move to London. That’s probably why we don’t write many memoirs.

There was another book he talked about that immediately grabbed my interest, and I went straight to put it on hold at my library. (I know, I know. My library pile is becoming increasingly difficult to control. I can’t help it.) But then, really, how does one remain immune to a penguin?

Imagine my horror, then, when I learned during Kurkov’s reading in Reykjavik that the penguin in Death and the Penguin is not like the squid or the whale, but, like, an actual penguin. The penguin really is a character, who – pull yourself together, man, which – has moods and feelings, and has an integral part in the story, and so on. And, as if the author actually wanted me to hate his novel, it’s a cute penguin, too.

Ii’m not sure if his humour gets through when I pick out passages randomly like this, but it really did make me laugh at times. And it’s funny how you don’t realise it until you’ve actually warmed to his style. When I was at about page 40, I thought this would be my only Hornby book, but as it turns out, I finished the book wanting to read The Polysyllabic Spree.

So, though I wouldn’t say I loved this book, it was very entertaining. It’s fun, stress-free, and really, just very enjoyable.

Rating: 4

* Note: Read Sasha‘s thoughts on this book some time ago, and I’ve kept Hornby’s name on my mental list of authors till now. So it’s thanks to her that I got to know about Hornby. And now thanks to Hornby, I’ve got a few other authors on my mental list.

§ 14 Responses to Housekeeping VS. The Dirt – Nick Hornby

  • Sasha says:

    I really loved this book, as you might have seen, haha. It made me rethink about how I read, and all that jazz. It keeps influencing how I write in the blog, for one. How I treat literature in public.

  • Tony says:

    Glad you enjoyed it. I’m a big Hornby fan, but I read ‘The Polysyllabic Spree’ last year (review in the usual place) and was not that impressed, mostly as I had little interest in most of the books he talked about. Hornby the writer is better than Hornby the reviewer – in my opinion, at least ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • chasing bawa says:

    I love books about writers and their reading. I haven’t read any books by Hornby, although I’ve seen a couple of films based on his books. Seemed kind of blokey, although I’m assuming his books are better than the films. Have you read anything else by him?

    • Michelle says:

      Nothing else by him just yet, as I’ve just replied to Tony. This being my first experience with Hornby’s writing, I don’t really know if he tends to be blokey. Maybe after reading a couple more, I’ll get a more solid feel for his style.

  • JoV says:

    Sounds like a book blogger must-read. Didn’t know Hornby wrote this book.

    I like ultra slim book to make me feel motivated now.

  • Nymeth says:

    I love this book SO MUCH! I love all three of his books on reading to bits and pieces – they’re among my all-time favourite non-fiction. Nick Hornby has recently gone back to writing his Stuff I’ve Been Reading column, so perhaps we can look forward to a fourth ๐Ÿ˜€

  • kiss a cloud says:

    I still haven’t read this but so want to! (and Polysyllabic.. and Shakespeare Wrote..)

    I don’t jive with all of Hornby’s books. (e.g. I absolutely loved High Fidelity but didn’t like A Long Way Down at all.) I think I love him most when he talks about music.

    • Michelle says:

      He talks about music too? That’s something I didn’t know. When I decide I want to read his fiction books, I’ll definitely pop you an email to ask which book it is. =)

  • mee says:

    Ohh I’ve been wanting to try his books (this one specifically). Btw are those all the library books you had at home in the background? ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Michelle says:

      No, they’re the books that are actually sitting on library shelves (I took the photo at the library). But I’ve got about as many books from the library sitting on my own shelf as there are in that photo. Same difference. =p

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Housekeeping VS. The Dirt – Nick Hornby at su[shu].

meta

