POC Challenge: February

February 28, 2010 § 4 Comments

Every end of the month, I will pool together the thoughts on books by or about POC that I’ve posted throughout the month. It’s just easier to have them all in one place. This is for the POC Reading Challenge.

So this is February.

This month, I started with posting my thoughts on Miss Chopsticks by Xinran which I had read in January. The book revolves around three sisters who leave their village to try their luck in Nanjing. It was a good and quick read, and as is typical of Xinran’s work, the book concentrated on the problems that Chinese women/girls face in their country.

My next POC book came in the form of Isabel Allende’s memoir, The Sum of Our Days. She wrote this 13 years after her daughter Paula died. Her book, too, was very focused on women, possibly because she is herself a very strong character, and so are the other women in her very extended family.

A Song Flung Up to Heaven, Maya Angelou’s sixth and final book in her memoir series was next on my reading list. I really enjoyed this book for the way that Angelou told her story, and for the new things I found out.

Mohsin Hamid’s A Reluctant Fundamentalist came after that, a novel mainly about the tension and distrust that has been building between the east and west after 9/11. There were some very profound thoughts in the novel, and as an added bonus, I found out that he actually had taken classes with Toni Morrison.

I also read Veronica Chambers’s book on modern Japanese women in Kickboxing Geishas. It was interesting, reading the perspective of a black woman about Asian women. She mentions quite a few times the similarities between them: people who have been continuously discriminated against. I was not entirely convinced, but nevertheless, some of you might find it more interesting than I did.

The last book I read for the month was Tonya Cherie Hegamin’s M+O 4EVR, an LGBT book about two friends coming to terms with their feelings for one another, and how one of them has to face an even more uphill battle. Not a favourite, but the premise was promising, and maybe I just read the book at a wrong time.

So that’s it for this month. What POC books have you read?

*

On another note, I seem to have gone into a reading slump, and have not been able to pick up a book, sit with it, and let it bring me away. I was planning to have read Toni Morrison’s Song of Solomon during this last week of February, but that hasn’t happened. I wonder if I just need a break? Or maybe a couple of good books to get me started again. Any recommendations?

§ 4 Responses to POC Challenge: February

  • JoV says:

    I experienced those slumps before. Always good to break away for awhile and pick up an easy read and things will pick up soon.

    Have a lovely break!

    • Michelle says:

      I think it might have been because His Dark Materials was such a heavy book, and one that transported me so far away. I’m thinking a couple of non-fiction books to keep me safely on the ground would be good before I go off into some other realm of fiction again. =)

  • Vishy says:

    “I seem to have gone into a reading slump” – a ‘book reading slump’, is it? πŸ™‚ I wish I had a slump like that – when I mostly read a book a day or a book in two days πŸ™‚

    It has been wonderful to read your reviews and get a lot of suggestions to add to my ‘TBR’ list.

    • Michelle says:

      I mean I’m in a slump ‘now’. I think it might have something to do with reading His Dark Materials, probably just took over me.

      But anyway, thanks. It’s always good to know that someone finds my thoughts on books useful. =)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading POC Challenge: February at su[shu].

meta

