M+O 4EVR – Tonya Cherie Hegamin

February 26, 2010 § 4 Comments

M+O 4EVR is a story about the love between Opal and Marianne, or O and M. For as long as she can remember, O has always loved M. Since they were so little, they shared many hours and days running in the woods and make-believing that they were goddesses. Things start to change as M gradually tries to distance herself from O. O still hopes that one day, things will go back to the way they were between them, but an accident changes all that, and O is left to face life alone.

The book started quite slow for me. I picked the book up, read a couple of pages, and put it back down again as I got distracted by other things. The story started to pick up a little at about page 50-60, which is quite a lot into the book already, considering it’s only about 160 pages long. It was a little difficult for me to connect with O, the narrator of our story, and I can’t seem to pinpoint the reason why.

The parallel story about Hannah, a slave girl who escaped in the mid 1800s didn’t help things much. It did add another dimension to the book, but otherwise, it had little to add to the story between O and M.

I didn’t quite like this book, to be honest. There were so many times when I felt like I could almost connect, but that feeling would just snap away. I really wish I enjoyed this more, but I guess this just wasn’t a book for me.

Rating: 2

For: LGBT Challenge

*

Note: This book is also for the LGBT February mini-challenge, which was to read a POC LGBT book.

§ 4 Responses to M+O 4EVR – Tonya Cherie Hegamin

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading M+O 4EVR – Tonya Cherie Hegamin at su[shu].

meta

