RRC #8

February 19, 2010 § 15 Comments

I’ve just finished The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde, and Kickboxing Geishas by Veronica Chambers about “How modern Japanese women are changing their nation.” I should be posting my thoughts about them in the next few days. Next week, I’ll be reading Toni Morrison’s Song of Solomon together with Another Cookie Crumbles, and I think Claire from Paperback Reader. I’m also reading Lolita with David from Absorbed in Words, and though I’m liking it so far, I’m just not making much progress.

I think it’s time to make another list for the Random Reading Challenge.

  1. Cutting for Stone – Abraham Verghese
  2. His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman
  3. The Graveyard Book – Neil Gaiman
  4. White is for Witching – Helen Oyeyemi
  5. Coraline – Neil Gaiman
  6. Tender Morsels – Margo Lanagan
  7. The Lost City of Z – David Grann
  8. We Have Always Lived in This Castle – Shirley Jackson
  9. A Short History of Myth – Karen Armstrong
  10. Burnt Shadows – Kamila Shamsie
  11. The Unit – Ninni Holmqvist
  12. The Giver – Lois Lowry
  13. The Anthologist – Nicholson Baker
  14. A Reliable Wife – Robert Goolrick

So, popping over briefly to random.org, I get….

2. His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman. I’ve heard good things about this book, so I’m looking forward to it. I’m really wanting to read the other books too though… Have you read His Dark Materials? If you have, what did you think about it? And how about the other books on the list? Which one(s) should I pounce on next?

*

PS: Should I count His Dark Materials as 3 books? Or just the one? It’s technically just ONE book that I’ll be reading, but it’s also technically a trilogy…

§ 15 Responses to RRC #8

  • Aimee says:

    YAYAYAYAYAY!! i’m so excited.

    i would suggest counting it as three books, as I found them all to have a different ‘feel’ about them. You might find that you don’t like The Golden Compass/ Northern Lights as much as The Subtle Knife or The Amber Spyglass, or vice versa!

    My fave – I think The Subtle Knife edges out The Amber Spyglass and Northern Lights, but the whole trilogy is just amazingly magical.

    • Michelle says:

      I think I’ll take your suggestion. And I think it helps me actually read it too. At least I know where I can officially stop and take a short break, between the volumes.

      I might even be posting my thoughts on the individual volumes as well. We’ll see how it goes.

  • I live His Dark Materials. Absolutely adore it, so hope you do too 🙂

    What a great way of figuring out what to read next. I tend to gaze at my bookshelf, almost as if I’m waiting for a book to pop into my hands saying, “read me, read me now.”

    Couple of other books on your list are on mine as well…

  • Chris says:

    I still haven’t read His Dark Materials, but I’ve heard nothing but good stuff about it!! hope you enjoy it! That’s a fantastic bunch of books there 😀 Enjoy the Gaiman and Lanagan!!! They’re favs of mine!

    • Michelle says:

      I know about the Lanagan. =) But funny though, because I’ve also started reading that one last week, but couldn’t get into it somehow… I’m hoping it was just me in the wrong mood, so I put it off. Everyone’s had only praises for Tender Morsels and I really want to enjoy that one..

  • farmlanebooks says:

    Fantastic list of books! I have loved every one which I read and have almost all the rest on my wish list. The only one I haven’t heard of is A Short History of Myth – I’ll have to look into that one!

  • Eva says:

    I can’t wait for your review of Kickboxing Geishas, since I just got that from the library this week! 🙂

  • Nymeth says:

    His Dark Materials is my all-time favourite fantasy series, which is saying a lot 😀 I can’t wait to hear what you think of it.

  • Interesting selection of books, I can’t wait to read We Have Always Lived in This Castle. The only one I have read from the pile is His Dark Materials, which I vote definitely counts as three different books. I preferred Northern Lights and The Subtle Knife to The Amber Spyglass myself. Not that The Amber Spyglass isn’t written very well but for me there was a lot of ideas going on, a few too many to completely absorb. I think I may need to re-read it. But overall great series, I hope you enjoy.

    • Michelle says:

      Am loving His Dark Materials so far. Definitely. So excited about the whole trilogy that I’m not really thinking about the next book as yet. Thanks for coming by.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading RRC #8 at su[shu].

meta

