Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass – Lewis Carroll

February 5, 2010 § 16 Comments

I doubt that Alice’s story is one that needs any introduction at all. Her story of following a rabbit down the rabbit hole, and subsequently meeting strange characters and weird creatures of all sorts has been told and retold and re-retold so many times, it doesn’t even matter if you’ve not read the actual text, you’re almost bound to know at least the gist of the story.

For some odd reason, though, I had imagined the original text to be somewhat deeper and darker than what has been portrayed throughout the many years via cartoons and adaptations. I thought there would be something a little more sinister. But as it turns out, the cartoon I watched so many years ago seems to follow the plot quite closely indeed.

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland didn’t give me much new to chew on. Most of what happens in this story is what we know of Alice in the first place. The Queen of Hearts, the Cheshire Cat, the Rabbit, the March Hare and the Mad Hatter. All of them so familiar, and all of them just like what I remember them to be.

Through the Looking Glass seems to be a little lesser known. A chess game and chess pieces seemed to be very dominant in this story, but not one that I immediately recalled at all. In fact, this was probably the part of the story that I’ve never known to exist. I had a little smile when it came to the part where Alice met Tweedledum and Tweedledee, and the story of the Walrus and the Carpenter that they told to Alice.

I think I quite enjoyed the cartoon I watched as a child more than the book though. For some reason, I found the writing a little boring, and Alice a rather uninteresting, sometimes even annoying, girl.

A little of a disappointment, this one.

Rating: 2.5

§ 16 Responses to Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass – Lewis Carroll

  • kiss a cloud says:

    Aw.. sorry it was a disappointment for you. For some reason, I remember it being really sinister, but probably because I was a little girl when I read this and it was the first strange book I’ve ever encountered. Haven’t read it since but I really, really loved it, especially the poems.

    • Michelle says:

      The poems were lovely. It’s probably because the cartoon is so clear in my memory still. Glad you loved it.

      • Mark David says:

        Hmm, I still want to read this someday because it’s a classic 🙂 But I understand your disappointment. I have come to learn recently that, as you said, the original text of some Disney classics were actually mroe sinister than the animated adaptations and that’s something to really get us curious of course. In the case of Alice, I am expecting that too. Could it be that the sinister elements are played out very subtly, like something more metaphoric? Well I’ll just see when I get around it then. Thanks for the review!

  • Mel u says:

    Sometimes I think the works of Lewis Carroll are more admired for their cleverness than actually read or enjoyed-nice review-I am looking forward to the movie!

  • mee says:

    I too need to read this one before watching the movie. Mm I hope I don’t have high expectation now after reading your review, so I might find it better than expected 🙂

    • Michelle says:

      I hope you do enjoy it a lot more than I did. I’m thinking maybe because I was expecting one thing, and it didn’t quite deliver on my expectations.

      Let’s hope the movie’s good.

  • Susan says:

    It has been to long since I’ve read Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass to add to much to the discussion here. Maybe the problem you had with the books is that you already know the stories too well–not enough novelty.

    • Michelle says:

      I think so. They’ve been told and retold so many times already, maybe it’s just getting a little old for me. But otherwise, I’ve heard fantastic things about it. So, I’m thinking it’s just me. =)

  • Aimee says:

    Oh Michelle! this is one of my favourite ever! Through the Looking Glass slightly moreso than Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland but still! To me, there’s so much deeper symbolism in these two novels, I find them to be incredibly dark, and yes, sinister to boot! And Disney did not lay a finger on any of the symbolic elements, IMHO.

    I may need to discuss this with you at some later date…I am perturbed! 🙂

    x
    Aimee

    • Michelle says:

      Funny how I was expecting your reaction. =)

      I will definitely take you up on that offer to discuss this book. Some time in the near future when I have time to re-read it. You’ll be my guide then. =)

  • Love Alice In Wonderland – the rabbit hole, the Mad Hatter, the March Hare, the works. Am convinced Carroll wrote it while on ‘shrooms, but my friends who avoid conspiracy theories like the plague beg to differ.

    Sorry that the book didn’t meet your expectations – at least it’s a great story nonetheless.

    • Michelle says:

      I’m seriously thinking I need to reread this some time in the future…… Most of you seem to have enjoyed it so much more than I had, and you guys are the people I normally listen to. Hmm…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass – Lewis Carroll at su[shu].

meta

