RRC #7

January 19, 2010 § 17 Comments

I’m currently reading Mark Haddon’s A Spot of Bother, and occasionally fitting in some short stories from Jhumpa Lahiri’s collection, Interpreter of Maladies. I’ve also just finished a couple of non-fiction (science) books, and my thoughts on them will be up very soon.

But I have a problem.

You see, I have borrowed too many books. And there is an urgent need to read all of them. I have to know what to read next.

Random Reading Challenge comes to the rescue yet again.

  1. East West – Salman Rushdie
  2. Oranges are not the Only Fruit – Jeanette Winterson
  3. Holidays on Ice – David Sedaris
  4. Go Ask Alice – Anonymous
  5. The End of the Alphabet – CS Richardson
  6. The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho
  7. The Road – Cormac McCarthy
  8. Song Yet Sung – James McBride
  9. The Sum of Our Days – Isabel Allende
  10. The Secret of Lost Things – Sheridan Hay
  11. Miss Chopsticks – Xinran
  12. On Chesil Beach – Ian McEwan
  13. How to Buy a Love of Reading – Tanya Egan Gibson

Consulting random.org…

…5. The End of the Alphabet, by CS Richardson.

Small thin book that I picked up at the library. Looks interesting.

Any books you’d recommend I read next from that list?

§ 17 Responses to RRC #7

  • mee says:

    I’ve read On Chesil Beach and The Road. Loved On Chesil Beach. Didn’t actually like the Road, but I know many people rave about it, like it’s the best book of the decade or something. Worth reading just to know what it’s all about, and who knows, you might like it too ๐Ÿ™‚

  • mee says:

    Btw congrats for moving to a hopefully better host, but I like your previous theme more!

    • Michelle says:

      So do I! But I just can’t find anything on wordpress that works for me. This was the best I could find. Maybe I’ll twiddle with it a bit more later in the week. Google for some online magic advice. =)

  • savidgereads says:

    I would recommend On Chesil Beach and then ask you to read Miss Chopsticks as its one I have on my radar and want to hear someone elses thoughts on it!

  • chasing bawa says:

    I haven’t read any titles on your list, although I have The Road and Oranges Are Not the Only Fruits on my TBR pile. I lie, I read The Alchemist many years ago and I think I tried to forget it (almost everyone around me loved it, but I don’t think I’m good with inspirational books – I just don’t seem to get them.) However, I am curious about David Sedaris (whom I seem to read about a lot on the web) and How to Buy a Love of Reading which sounds v. interesting.

    • Michelle says:

      I’ve been hearing mixed reviews about The Alchemist as well, and I’m really hesistant to start that one, to be honest, because I really want to like it.

  • claire says:

    I hope you enjoy The End of the Alphabet. I thought it was cute, but nothing earth shattering. From your list, my favourite is The Road.. I love it soo much, brilliant. I also love On Chesil Beach and East, West. So I’d say read those three first. ๐Ÿ™‚ Miss Chopsticks was a nice, light read.

  • JoV says:

    I recommend On Chesil Beach only because I am about to read it. I didn’t like The Road, nor the spiritual mumbo-jumbo of The Alchemist and Paul Coelho for that matter.

    But you are right on my alley with Mark Haddon’s book and Jhumpa Lahiri. I read all of Lahiri’s books, and can’t wait for more!

    • Michelle says:

      Thanks for coming by.

      I’ve yet to read Lahiri’s newest collection of shorts, but I’ve heard that it’s way better than Interpreter of Maladies. Will have to find out soon.

  • JoV says:

    I wouldn’t say so. They are equally good. “The unaccustomed earth” writes in the same tradition as Maladies. Not too crazy about her Namesake though.

  • Mark David says:

    The other day I saw The Interpreter of Maladies at the bookstore but restrained myself from buying since I already bought two other books that day. But I keep seeing this book on different blogs lately and it’s getting really hard to resist!

    • Michelle says:

      I brought it home once before, and didn’t manage to get past the first story. Giving it a second chance now is doing me some good. The stories are quite well-written. Temptations temptations! =)

  • lol am I allowed to vote against something? ’cause, er, I really didn’t like Ian McEwans’s book (okay that’s an understatement: I HATED THAT NOVEL) and I could spend my whole life without seeing another Ian McEwan title ever again. But er, I also hate Hemingway’s works, and he gets all sorts of incomprehensible praises, so I guess read to your discretion, lol

    • Michelle says:

      Haha. Okay. So one ‘no’ vote for On Chesil Beach. I have not read Hemingway, so I have no idea.. But I’ve tried one of McEwan’s books before, and it was alright for me.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading RRC #7 at su[shu].

meta

