Hello Japan! January: Japanese Music

January 9, 2010 § 7 Comments

hellojapanHello Japan! mini-challenge is a monthly challenge about anything related to Japan,  hosted by Tanabata at In Spring it is the Dawn. This month, the theme is about Japanese music. And of course, I just couldn’t resist.

I’ve been a big fan of Japanese anime for a while now, and I also love watching J-Drama quite a bit. When it comes to Japanese music, I pick up a lot on the soundtracks used in the anime and dramas/movies I watch.

But instead of J-pop or J-rock, which I have to say is becoming increasingly popular, I thought I might introduce some of you to a Japanese music composer, Joe Hisaishi.

I actually know nothing about more about this man than what Wikipedia has told me. But the fact that he composed the songs for the Studio Ghibli has made me just love this man. How does anyone compose music so so beautiful?

Among my favourite pieces of music come from My Neighbour Totoro and Princess Mononoke. But my favouritest piece of music composed by Joe Hisaishi has to be the cello piece played in the movie Departures, or Okuribito. The movie was reviewed by Chasing Bawa HERE. For those who’ve watched the movie, you’ll know which piece I’m talking about. For those who haven’t, be prepared to be completely moved by it.

There’s really not much to write about. When we talk about music, what better way than to have a sampling of it? I’ve put 4 pieces by Joe Hisaishi in the player here. It’s my first time putting audio on a blog post, so let’s hope it works alright, and that it loads at a reasonable speed.

(If it takes a while to load, or if it plays in bits, click ‘pause’ and let it load for a while before playing it.)

I hope you enjoyed them. Let me know what you think.

§ 7 Responses to Hello Japan! January: Japanese Music

  • mee says:

    My friend IRL has vouched for the movie and I had intended to watch it since. It was shown in some cinemas in Australia a while back and I was intrigued by the poster. Now you mentioned it and chasing bawa too. Must watch! 🙂

    And of course, I love Studio Ghibli. But I never paid attention to the music composer (I should). Thanks for attaching the audio. It works fine for me!

  • Novroz says:

    Thank you for sharing this 🙂

    I Love every anime made by Ghibli studio and the scoring is always good…but I never knew who was the composer.

    I have to agree with you that J-pop and J-rock has become more popular now…I remember 9 years ago, I was a weirdo among my friends coz I was the only one who like J-music….But lately, I can easily find people who love J-music

  • Wahhhhhhhh My Neighbour Totoro!! Gawd, this brings back memories. And yeah, I think out of all the Miyazaki movies I’ve seen, Princess Mononoke is my favourite so far. (Though, I have yet to watch the Ponyo one, so maybe I’ll change my mind after watching it?)

    lol this Hello! Japan mini-challenge sounds AWESOME. I could most certainly talk about J-music all day. (You think it’s too late for me to join? =/)

  • su says:

    @ mee: A definite must-watch. The story is just so moving. And don’t we all just love Studio Ghibli? =)

    @ Novroz: Thanks for coming by! I know what you mean. I think it’s the same in Malaysia as it is in Indonesia..

    @ Ah Yuan: I SO grew up with Totoro, I just melt every time I hear that music. And yesh, I gush about Princess Mononoke every chance I get too. I’ve not watched Ponyo either, am still trying to find a non-dubbed version..

    And no, it’s not too late to join. Just pop over to the website I linked to. Tanabata hosts mini challenges like this every month, and you can do the ones you want, and just visit the blogs that participate in the challenges you don’t feel like doing. Do join! Would love to read about your favourite J-music.

  • Novroz says:

    I love those old times rather than now…because at that time those who love J-Music truly love J-music BUT now, most of them are just following the trend 😦

  • YES! I know *exactly* what piece of music in Departures you’re talking about! Great movie too btw. 🙂

    Myself, I like film music A LOT as well. I’ll be posting about another famous composer this month… To be continued 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hello Japan! January: Japanese Music at su[shu].

meta

