Bone #1: Out from Boneville – Jeff Smith

January 6, 2010 § 6 Comments

054

Bone is just too cute. You can’t help but love it.

Out from Boneville is the first of the Bone graphic novel series. It starts with 3 cousins, Fone Bone, Phoney Bone and Smiley Bone, having lost each other during a freak locust attack. We then follow the story of Fone Bone, the guy you see on the cover illustration, as he tries to find his two cousins.

Of course, it’s not all smooth-sailing. Along the way, he meets Thorn, a human girl; her grand-ma Ben who races cows(!), a talking leaf bug Ted, a dragon of some sort, and rat creatures.

It’s an adventure story, this. And the drawings just make me go all “awww…”.

bone-1

And the dialogue is funny too.

bone-2

This volume ends with a cliff-hanger. What do the rat creatures want with Phoney Bone? And how far would they go? What other adventures are in store for the Bone cousins? And of course, what will happen during the cow race?

I’m looking forward to reading the second volume soon.

Rating: 4.5

§ 6 Responses to Bone #1: Out from Boneville – Jeff Smith

  • mee says:

    Oh is your copy colored?! I’m so jealous! I’ve been reading black and white copies! I’m glad you’ve tried and liked Bone. I’m at the last in the series now (vol 9).

  • su says:

    @ mee: Aww.. The colour copy is just SO awesome! I just hope the other copies in the library are coloured as well.

  • Mark David says:

    You guys have graphic novels in your libraries? I don’t even know there are any decent libraries here in the Philippines! Perhaps some of the top universities, I guess. But even them, I think, wouldn’t have the really good modern writers in their shelves, much less comic books.

    Hmm, perhaps I should go out and look for one šŸ™‚

  • su says:

    @ Mark David: We do have good libraries here in New Zealand, though I don’t think I can say the same about Malaysia.. Wish you luck with hunting good books and good libraries!

  • uenohama says:

    I love Bone. It gets more serious in tone as the series progresses, still brilliant though. It’s being adapted into a film.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bone #1: Out from Boneville – Jeff Smith at su[shu].

meta

