RRC #6

December 27, 2009 § Leave a comment

rrc6

I’m reading A Quiet Life by Kenzaburo Oe at the moment, about a chapter and a half from finishing. So what book do I read next? Random picking time.

I’ve still got the same books I had for RRC #5. So I’m recycling that list. Only difference is that I’ve taken off the titles that I’ve already read, and also titles for challenges that I’m keeping until 2010 comes along (in a few more days!). With that in mind, here’s my list for picking random book number 6.

  1. Watchmen – Alan Moore, Dave Gibbons
  2. Bone Volume 1 – Jeff Smith
  3. Life in Pictures – Will Eisner
  4. Life Ascending – Nick Lane
  5. The Origin of Species – Charles Darwin
  6. The Sum of Our Days – Isabel Allende
  7. Miss Chopsticks – Xinran
  8. The Virgin Suicides – Jeffrey Eugenides
  9. On Chesil Beach – Ian McEwan
  10. East West – Salman Rushdie
  11. Post-Birthday World – Lionel Shriver
  12. A Spot of Bother – Mark Haddon
  13. Handpicked – Siew Siang Tay
  14. Song Yet Sung – James McBride
  15. The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho
  16. Asian Tales and Tellers – Cathy Spagnoli
  17. Interpreter of Maladies – Jhumpa Lahiri
  18. How to Buy a Love of Reading – Tanya Egan Gibson
  19. Silence – Shusaku Endo
  20. Five – Shusaku Endo
  21. Some Prefer Nettles – Jun’ichiro Tanizaki
  22. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao – Junot Diaz

Random.org says to read… 16.

Asian Tales and Tellers – Cathy Spagnoli. I’ve had a glance through, and it looks like it’s a collection of folklore from Asian countries, each story probably only a page or two long. So it should be a pretty easy and light read.

To be honest, I was willing random.org to pick number 22, but it didn’t. However, since the book it chose for me is a collection of short tales, perhaps I can squeeze Oscar Wao in between tales? =)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading RRC #6 at su[shu].

meta

