RRC #5

December 18, 2009 § 10 Comments

rrc5

I just have to love my library. Because the Christmas and New Year holidays are coming up very soon, our local library decided to extend the number of days that one particular book can be checked out, from 28 days to 42 days! That got me all excited, and so..

I had initially said to myself to not visit the library until I have at least finished half of the library stack I already have at home. But that was initially. I couldn’t resist going again today, and took home another 10..

Seeing as how I’ve just finished Su Tong’s Binu and the Great Wall, finishing up the last few pages of My Point… And I Do Have One by Ellen DeGeneres, and joining in the JLit Read-Along with Tanabata for Natsume Soseki’s I Am A Cat, I thought this would be a good time to do another random selection for a book to read.

The library books I have with me now, which I have yet to read, are:

  1. Watchmen – Alan Moore, Dave Gibbons
  2. Bones Volume 1 – Jeff Smith
  3. Life in Pictures – Will Eisner
  4. Life Ascending – Nick Lane
  5. Self-Made Man – Norah Vincent
  6. The Origin of Species – Charles Darwin
  7. The Sum of Our Days – Isabel Allende
  8. Miss Chopsticks – Xinran
  9. February Flowers – Fan Wu
  10. The Virgin Suicides – Jeffrey Eugenides
  11. The Night Watch – Sarah Waters
  12. Sexing the Cherry – Jeanette Winterson
  13. Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit – Jeanette Winterson
  14. The Bluest Eye – Toni Morrison
  15. The Witches – Roald Dahl
  16. James and the Giant Peach – Roald Dahl
  17. Matilda – Roald Dahl
  18. On Chesil Beach – Ian McEwan
  19. East West – Salman Rushdie
  20. Post-Birthday World – Lionel Shriver
  21. When We Were Orphans – Kazuo Ishiguro
  22. A Spot of Bother – Mark Haddon
  23. Handpicked – Siew Siang Tay
  24. Song Yet Sung – James McBride
  25. The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho
  26. Asian Tales and Tellers – Cathy Spagnoli
  27. Interpreter of Maladies – Jhumpa Lahiri
  28. How to Buy a Love of Reading – Tanya Egan Gibson
  29. The Book Against God – James Wood
  30. Silence – Shusaku Endo
  31. Five – Shusaku Endo
  32. Some Prefer Nettles – Jun’ichiro Tanizaki
  33. A Quiet Life – Kenzaburo Oe
  34. The Bonesetter’s Daughter – Amy Tan
  35. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao – Junot Diaz

I guess I really have to start eating through this pile before I even think of starting with my own stack of books.

Going over to Random.org to pick a number……. And it gives me #34

The Bonesetter’s Daughter by Amy Tan it is then!

I’ll be doing my next random pick from this list again, I’m sure. Hopefully, there won’t be any new additions. (Or maybe, hopefully there will be?)

§ 10 Responses to RRC #5

  • Sakura says:

    What an eclectic selection! I read Amy Tan’s The Joy Luck Club a few years ago and got completely swept away. I haven’t read any of her other books yet, but I really enjoyed the one I read.

  • Tony says:

    You do know that you’re supposed to give library books back, not add them to your book collection, don’t you? It seems a little excessive to have 35 books on loan at any one time!

  • su says:

    @ Sakura: It is quite a wide range, I’ll admit. I’m planning to read The Joy Luck Club sometime soon.

    @ Tony: Ah, I know… It’s really a very bad habit of mine.

  • mee says:

    I’m excited you took Bone home! Hope you get to read that soon, as it’s a quick read anyway :D. But I’m as excited that you picked Amy Tan’s the Bonesetter’s Daughter. It’s one of her best.

  • Susan says:

    I’d never have thought to use Random.org to pick the next book I read! 🙂

    Amy Tan is a great writer; I’m sure you’ll enjoy the book.

  • claire says:

    Hope you enjoy The Bonesetter’s Daughter! I’m curious what your next random pick will be. And incidentally, my children and I are rereading James and the Giant Peach together at the moment. 🙂

  • Loads of Roald Dahls on the list… nice!

    As I didn’t absolutely love The Joy Luck Club, I wasn’t sure about picking up another book by Amy Tan. Looking forward to your review/thoughts.

  • su says:

    @ mee: I think my library has the entire collection of Bones, so I’m looking forward to reading the first volume and see how I like it. Should be good.

    @ Susan: This method of randomly picking a book to read is working very well for me. It’s becoming increasingly difficult to choose!

    @ Claire: I’m hoping to read James and the Giant Peach soon, especially after I found out that it’s been challenged/banned!

    @ anothercookie: I’ve only read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl, and I’ve heard from you that Maltilda is a great book.

    I’m halfway through The Bonesetter’s Daughter, and am enjoying it thus far. =)

  • Eva says:

    What an awesome thing for your library to do! 🙂 I have the first Bones book out too. And I’ve been curious about that Vincent book for years, lol.

  • su says:

    @ Eva: Don’t you just love libraries like that? =)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading RRC #5 at su[shu].

meta

