RRC #4

December 13, 2009 § 10 Comments

rrc4

Time for another round of randomly picking a book to read. I’ve hijacked a huge amount of library books, and I think it’s about time I start nibbling my way through.

  1. A Spot of Bother – Mark Haddon
  2. When We Were Orphans – Kazuo Ishiguro
  3. East West – Salman Rushdie
  4. The Bluest Eye – Toni Morrison
  5. The Virgin Suicides – Jeffrey Eugenides
  6. Binu and the Great Wall – Su Tong
  7. Handpicked – Siew Siang Tay
  8. Some Prefer Nettles – Jun’ichiro Tanizaki
  9. The Bonesetter’s Daughter – Amy Tan
  10. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao – Junot Diaz
  11. I Am A Cat – Natsume Soseki
  12. Five – Shusaku Endo
  13. A Quiet Life – Kenzaburo Oe

Random.org gives me #6: Binu and the Great Wall, Su Tong.

I guess it can also be said, these are the books I’ll be reading and writing about very soon. =)

Any thoughts on which I might want to venture into next, after Binu?

§ 10 Responses to RRC #4

  • Frances says:

    Wow. There is a lot of wonderful-ness there. I would recommend The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison. Also noticed that we share A Spot of Bother and The Virgin Suicides in common on the tbr. Happy reading!

  • Sakura says:

    I’ve heard great things about the The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and I loved the film of The Virgin Suicides. But I haven’t read either so I would be interested in hearing your views.

  • claire says:

    East West is my favourite Rushdie, it’s excellent. The Bluest Eye is also gorgeous, as all Toni Morrisons are. The Bonesetter’s Daughter is entertaining enough, even if not as good as The Joy Luck Club.

    The rest I haven’t read, but have the Ishiguro and the Oe and the Tanizaki on my tbr, as they are all authors I have come to love. My favourite, though, is Oe, he is amazingly good. Enjoy your awesome stack!

  • Bellezza says:

    The Brief And Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao was an interesting read. Depressing, but interesting. It’s the story of an immigrant who really has a lot of emotional issues, but I doubt very much if they would be different were he not an immigrant. Anyway, I read it to cross one off of my list of Pulitzer Prize winners, and for that alone it was worthy.

  • su says:

    @ Frances: It’s a lot of wonderful-ness, isn’t it? I really have to refrain from visiting the library again this week.

    @ Sakura: I’ve been told that Oscar Wao is a MUST-read, so I’m probably going to go for that next, unless I get seduced by another title..

    @ Claire: I’ve only watched The Joy Luck Club, and I’d really love to re-watch it alongside reading the book one day.

    @ Bellezza: “Depressing”, did you say? =) Sounds like it’s right up my alley!

  • Mark David says:

    oh, knowing how much love books that make you ponder, I’m sure you’re gonna love Oe’s book 🙂 I still haven’t read any work from Ishiguro, but I’m dying to! I also want to read Binu and The Great Wall. I almost forgot about that one! It’s in my official TBR list for 2009 but I still haven’t bought a copy! Thanks for reminding me 🙂

  • su says:

    @ Mark David: Haha, you’ve definitely got that right, I DO love books that make me think and ponder. I get the feeling that Oe’s work will give me that kind of satisfaction. =)

  • Susan says:

    A stack like this would render me extremely indecisive. How will you choose what to read next? You have too many great books here-good luck!

  • That’s a great random list book. I loved When We Were Orphans, but, liked A Curious Incident Of The Dog At Night Time a lot more than A Spot Of Bother.

    Virgin Suicides is so different from anything else that I’ve read, although my cover says it’s the modern-day “Catcher In The Rye”.

    Looking forward to your review of I Am A Cat (as it’s on my TBR), as well as everything else. Enjoy!

  • su says:

    @ Susan: Great choices, aren’t they? Hence my ‘random’ choice!

    @ anothercookie: I checked and found out the Vol 2 of I am a Cat is up for reading group discussion now! And I haven’t started! So I might want to read that book pretty soon. =)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading RRC #4 at su[shu].

meta

