Another Reading Challenge

December 12, 2009 § 3 Comments

unlockworlds2010Unlock Worlds Banned Book Challenge

This is a challenge to read and write reviews on the top 100 books that were challenged or banned in the 90s. I can’t believe I only found out about this challenge today, even though it’s been running since September 2009.

But as they always say, better late than never.

I don’t really have a tentative list, but I do know that I want to read as many as I can possibly get my hands on.

I’m giving myself a target of 6 books, from now till 30 September 2010. Suggestions of banned/challenged books that you think are worth reading and shouldn’t be banned are welcome. =)

Postscript: I did say I don’t have a tentative list, but after going through the 100 titles available on the Review Site, there appears to be some titles I’d like to read before some others.

  1. Pillars of the Earth – Ken Follett
  2. That was Then, This is Now – S. E. Hinton
  3. The Outsiders – S. E. Hinton
  4. The Witches – Roald Dahl
  5. The Bluest Eye – Toni Morrison
  6. Kaffir Boy – Mark Mathabane
  7. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  8. James and the Giant Peach – Roald Dahl
  9. The Boy Who Lost His Face – Louis Sachar
  10. Are You There, God? It’s me, Margaret – Judy Blume

I think I sort of let myself get carried away.. Just a little. But from that list, I’ve actually read Hinton’s The Outsiders earlier this year, before I began this blog. I loved that book, and I’d love to read it again, if only to give me a chance to post my thoughts here.

And if I find Morrison’s The Bluest Eye a pleasant read, I may just hunt down her other books.

This is, of course, a tentative list. And since I hardly know how to follow rules I set up for myself (I’m lenient on myself that way..), I might end up with a list of books completely different from this!

§ 3 Responses to Another Reading Challenge

  • Susan says:

    Su, your list is a good place to start. I can’t believe that these books have been banned! I published a list of banned books on my blog a while ago and had the same reaction: why? Many of the books I gravitate toward are or were banned at some point in time.

    I like your new blog design. šŸ™‚

  • su says:

    @ Susan: Neither can I. I’m tempted to say, why ban Roald Dahl? But truth be told, why ban any of them at all?!

    The blog design is not mine, but thanks anyway! I like it too. =)

  • mee says:

    Mmm I thought I saw you posting about this challenge before. I’ve been meaning to read Pillars of the Earth! I’ve been holding it in my hands at the library for a few times now but always backed down because of the size (I’m not afraid of thick book, just thought there wasn’t time at those times). But I’m planning to read To Kill a Mockingbird very soon. Shall we read it together?! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Another Reading Challenge at su[shu].

meta

