RRC #3

November 29, 2009 § 4 Comments

I’ve been really slack these days at updating this blog with my thoughts on books. I’ve just finished Tash Aw’s  The Harmony Silk Factory, and I promise to post my thoughts on it real soon. Currently, I’m reading Ellen DeGeneres’ My Point… And I Do Have One. I’m finding it light and quite comical, and I’m rather enjoying it.

But I do need something more substantial to read. So at a time like this, the Random Reading Challenge does come in handy.

My list to randomly choose from:

  1. When We Were Orphans – Kazuo Ishiguro
  2. The Book Against God – James Wood
  3. East West – Salman Rushdie
  4. Sophie’s World – Jostein Gaarder
  5. The Bonesetter’s Daughter – Amy Tan
  6. The Wind-up Bird Chronicle – Haruki Murakami
  7. A Quiet Life – Kenzaburo Oe
  8. Silence – Shusaku Endo
  9. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao – Junot Diaz
  10. Kappa – Ryunosuke Akutagawa
  11. The Stone Gods – Jeanette Winterson
  12. Oranges are Not The Only Fruit – Jeanette Winterson
  13. Kinshu: Autumn Brocade – Teru Miyamoto

And the winner (or rather, the book I’m going to read before the others..) is… (according to random.org)…

The Wind-up Bird Chronicle, Haruki Murakami!

This book is also part of my TBR Challenge, which I seem to be failing miserably at..

This book will also be part of the Japanese Literature Challenge.

*

I will probably be wanting to take part in some challenges in the coming year as well. Maybe I should aim to do less books in each of the different challenges, especially considering how I digress into different books as time progresses.

I’m definitely interested in taking different challenges for 2010. Any suggestions?

§ 4 Responses to RRC #3

  • mee says:

    I’ve been wanting to read The Harmony Silk Factory for the longest time, especially since I met Tash Aw beginning of this year. It just keeps pushed back down my tbr pile for some reason. I loved The Wind-up Bird Chronicle! I hope you enjoy it too. Nice list. The Bonesetter’s Daughter is a must read 🙂

    Check out http://novelchallenges.blogspot.com/ for list of all challenges. There are an awful lot of them, especially near the end of the year like now (for next year).

  • su says:

    @ mee: I’m up to page 60+ of what seems like a really thick book, and am already enjoying Murakami’s style. I think I’ve kept away from him for far too long. =)

    Oh, and thanks for the heads-up about the blog with a list of challenges. I’ve had a quick look at it, and there are a couple of challenges that seem really really interesting!

  • Tony says:

    Nice to see you back 🙂

    This is one of Murakami’s best: enjoy!

    Be sure to check out my blog tomorrow (1/12/09 – after mid-day): there’s a post on Free E-Day and the chance to download a specially written short story (for free!).

  • su says:

    @ Tony: Nice of you to drop by. =)

    I’m definitely enjoying this book heaps. And I will make sure I pop by your blog tomorrow. =)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading RRC #3 at su[shu].

meta

