Short Update

September 13, 2009 § 7 Comments

I’ve been away from the Internet for quite a while now, and I just thought that I’d post this update, just in case people were starting to get worried that I was swarmed by avian zombies for one reason or other.

No, I’ve been quite quite safe. But uni has been taking over my life these days, with my days officially starting at 9am and ending at 5pm, but really, they were starting at 8am, and ending at around 1am. Plus, my computer has crashed on me yet again. So though I’ve been safe, and have not been attacked by zombie chickens, I have to say that the past week or so has been ultra-hectic for me.

BUT…

I have, of course, found some time to read. I’m now on my final short story, from Nocturnes by Kazuo Ishiguro, and also reading Murakami’s After Dark. I’ve enjoyedย Nocturnes immensely, and my thoughts on the book should be up in a couple of days, if I get my computer fixed tonight, which is why I’m now at uni, at 8.36 pm on a Sunday night. I’ve just started Murakami’s book, but I’ve got a good feeling about it.

And, oh! I’ve got myself a new book! Well, sort of new anyway. I got The Thirteenth Tale second-hand, but it’s like brand new. I’m looking forward to reading it for Carl’s RIP Challenge soon.

§ 7 Responses to Short Update

  • Tony says:

    Phew. I was wondering about the Zombie Chickens. Good to know they haven’t tracked you down yet ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Not read either of them, so can’t wait to read your thoughts on them – specially the Murakami!

  • claire says:

    I hope you enjoy The Thirteenth Tale.. it’s wonderful. And glad to hear you enjoyed Nocturnes.. I’m looking forward to reading it soon. It’s been getting mixed reviews so I wonder on which camp I’ll end up. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • su says:

    @ Tony: Oh, they’ve tracked me down alright. But they’re just following me around at the moment. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    @ anothercookie: Murakami’s one is very promising.

    @ Claire: It’s quite true, there are some very mixed reviews and thoughts about this book. Maybe I’ve not read enough of Ishiguro to really tell what he’s like with novels, but for what it’s worth, I found Nocturnes just beautiful.

  • Mark David says:

    Hey glad to hear from you again. We really were getting worried that some literary monster has come to life and kidnapped you ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m really really curious about Nocturnes, coz I like short stories and I’ve been dying to read an Ishiguro for quite some time now but still haven’t found a copy. So hearing you say you enjoyed it “immensely” only wants me to read it more… about After Dark, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it ๐Ÿ™‚

  • su says:

    @ Mark David: I wouldn’t really mind if a literary monster did actually come to life to kidnap me, as long as that means I get to escape from uni for a bit, and immerse myself in literature.

  • Mark David says:

    “immerse myself in literature”… now that sounds nice ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Short Update at su[shu].

meta

