Zombie Chicken Award, and The Name of the Game – Will Eisner

September 8, 2009 § 6 Comments

zombiechicken_award

I was pleasantly surprised on Sunday when I got a comment from Mark David about the award he had given to me. I am, after all, a very new addition to the book blogging world, and an award was the least that I was expecting.

The ‘official rules’ for getting this award is:

The blogger who receives this award believes in the Tao of the zombie chicken– excellence, grace, and persistence in all situations, even in the midst of a zombie apocalypse. These amazing bloggers regularly produce content so remarkable that their readers would brave a raving pack of zombie chickens just to be able to read their inspiring words. As a recipient of this world-renowned award, you now have the task of passing it on to at least 5 other worthy bloggers. Do not risk the wrath of the zombie chickens by choosing unwisely or not choosing at all.

I think the zombie chickens look cute. I actually do. So I’m going to make 5 other bloggers put this image of two very cute zombie chickens on their blogs, by awarding them the Zombie Chicken Award. And yes, it comes without saying, I really really enjoy reading these blogs.

  1. 1 More Chapter
  2. Another Cookie Crumbles
  3. Chasing Bawa
  4. Lotus Reads
  5. Tony’s Reading List

Thanks again to Mark David (do I call you Mark? Or David? Or just Mark David?) for thinking of me for this award.

*****

025

With the award giving done, it’s time for some business. I read this book in a couple of hours, and I enjoyed those couple of hours thoroughly. The Name of the Game is a graphic novel about a family saga. The plot pretty much revolves around family relations, and business related to family relations.

The story is set in America during the early 1900s, and I think the graphics were done very well to suit this time zone. Now I wish I had actually taken scanned images or photos of some of the pages inside so that I could post them up here now.

The story was still a little too light for me. Or maybe I’m just getting to like heavy stories a lot more than I used to. But I did enjoy this book, and I think I’ll be borrowing another one of Will Eisner’s graphic novels the next time I visit the library.

All in all, a 4/5 from me.

§ 6 Responses to Zombie Chicken Award, and The Name of the Game – Will Eisner

  • Mark David says:

    You’re much welcome Michelle! šŸ™‚

    I go by different nicknames, actually. But perhaps David would do since that’s what most people call me. There’s usually another Mark, may it be at school or in the office, so that’s why I ended up being called David more often. I’m usually only called Mark by people from my hometown, he he. But it doesn’t matter really if it’s Mark or David or Mark David since I like both names šŸ˜‰

    You know, I’m just amazed at how you manage to read a book in just a matter of hours and still be able to absorb so much of the story and the writing. That’s talent šŸ™‚

  • 3m says:

    Thank you soooo much. It is much appreciated!!

  • Jason says:

    Hi, I was reading Tony’s blog about Murakami’s Hear the Wind Sing and found out that you have a copy of the ebook. Would it be possible for you to provide a copy of it? It would be much appreciated for us who don’t have access to this book as it wasn’t published in the US. I’ve been searching for weeks and only could find an extract of the first 7 out of 40 chapters. Thanks!!

  • Susan says:

    Congrats on your award! Good thing you gave some out, to appease the wrath and uncontrollable squawking of the zombie chickens. . . .

    The Name of the Game looks like a good graphic novel. Thanks for your review.

  • Congratulations & thank you!

    Zombie chickens, huh? I’m running scared now.

  • su says:

    @ Mark David: Thanks for the compliment. =)
    I’m just generally a fast reader. And sometimes, it’s not a very good thing. I tend to miss out on some of the most beautiful details on my first read.

    @Jason: You know what? I actually lost the ebook copy I had when my computer crashed the last time round. I’m looking everywhere for it, but I still haven’t found it yet. If I do, I’ll make sure I send you a copy through the email.

    I’m sorry I can’t be of any help this time.

    @ Susan: Thanks. I love the zombie chickens, they’re awesome! And yes, The Name of the Game was quite a good read.

    @anothercookie: Thanks, and you’re welcome!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Zombie Chicken Award, and The Name of the Game – Will Eisner at su[shu].

meta

