The Five People You Meet in Heaven – Mitch Albom

September 4, 2009 § 3 Comments

024

It’s quite amazing, really, how sometimes certain things happen at certain times. Just today, I was helping a friend out at uni, going around ‘interviewing’ fellow students and classmates on how they felt about the past three years in architecture school. The answers we got were hilarious, but they also got me thinking about what I’ve experienced these three years. This being my final year, with only another couple of months to go, it felt bittersweet in a way, knowing that it’s all going to end really soon, and looking back at the crazy things I’ve done so far.

And to imagine, I started reading Five People today as well.

This book is very much like what I felt today as I looked back on my three years of life as an architectural student. Only difference being, the main character of the story died on his 83rd birthday. The essence of the story is not so much what happens after death, and who you’d meet when you do, but rather about how we live life, and how we influence each other in the most subtle of ways.

Sometimes, when we think back to a point in our lives, we remember that nothing made any sense. But knowing what we know now, perhaps it did make sense, only we didn’t have the eyes to see it. The book deals somewhat with this theme, though I think it could possibly have been done better.

The story is not a morbid one, but one that has ‘hope’ written all over it. Was it inspiring? Definitely. But maybe my tastes lie more on the darker side of life.

It was a good read, this one. Not as great as Tuesdays with Morrie, but better than For One More Day.

Conclusion: 4/5.

§ 3 Responses to The Five People You Meet in Heaven – Mitch Albom

  • Have you read Tuesdays with Morrie? My opinion, it’s Albom’s best.

    I really enjoyed this book as well. Thought it was well-written and interesting.

  • su says:

    Tuesdays was definitely Albom’s best. It had a certain touch to it that was sentimental, and yet not over-done to the point when it gets mushy.

  • Susan says:

    “The essence of the story is not so much what happens after death, and who you’d meet when you do, but rather about how we live life, and how we influence each other in the most subtle of ways.”
    ~Su

    Well-said!

    Su, I also enjoyed this book, as well as his others. Mitch Albom has a brand new book out, Have a Little Faith. I just posted on it last month. Please stop by my blog when you have a moment!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Five People You Meet in Heaven – Mitch Albom at su[shu].

meta

