RRC #2

August 31, 2009 § 5 Comments

I’m doing the Random Reading Challenge again this time.

I’m currently reading a couple of books; Kazuo Ishiguro’s Nocturnes, and Sir Conan Doyle’s Casebook of Sherlock Holmes. But both of them are short-story genres, and I tend to like to keep my short stories separate, at least an hour (or a day, optimally) in between each of them so that I have time to digest.

Simply put, I need a novel-type book to read.

So here’s the list from which I’m going to randomly choose a book to read:

  1. Atonement – Ian McEwan
  2. The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
  3. Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit – Jeanette Winterson
  4. Sophie’s World – Jostein Gaarder
  5. The Buddha of Suburbia – Hanif Kureishi
  6. Evening is the Whole Day – Preeta Samarasan
  7. The Unconsoled – Kazuo Ishiguro
  8. The Five People You Meet in Heaven – Mitch Albom
  9. Binu and the Great Wall – Su Tong
  10. The Piano Teacher – Elfriede Jelinek
  11. South of the Border, West of the Sun – Haruki Murakami
  12. Out – Natsuo Kirino
  13. The Pearl – John Steinbeck

So, at Random.org, [drumroll..], I get number 8.

So, The Five People You Meet in Heaven it’s going to be.

*

Postscript: I get the feeling I’m going to have to choose another random book very soon. I tend to finish Mitch Albom’s works quite quickly.

OR

If there is any one book from the list above that you would recommend, please do leave me a comment. I’d like to know. 🙂

§ 5 Responses to RRC #2

  • mee says:

    I’ve read The Five People but I liked Tuesdays with Morrie more. I wasn’t crazy about it but it’s okay cos the premise and idea is really interesting. I just borrowed Oranges are not the Only Fruit a week ago from library! The Piano Teacher is one I’d like to read too. Go read OUT if you haven’t!

  • Tony says:

    ‘Atonement’! Brilliant! Read my review!

    But definitely NOT until you’ve read the book…

  • Atonement – really good. Comes highly recommended.
    Great Gatsby – one of the best books I’ve read this year. You can find my review here.
    Sophie’s World – fantastic. I read it when I was fifteen, and it was one of the books I ended up taking to university, because, you can just open it and start flipping through the pages.

    Out is probably going to be read in the next couple of weeks… and, I doubt you can go wrong with Murakami. 🙂

  • su says:

    @ mee: I liked Tuesdays with Morrie too. But I’ve heard good things about Five People as well. So we’ll see.

    I had actually started on Oranges before this, but just never got around to finishing it. It’s actually not that thick a book, so I might want to give it another go.

    @ Tony: Atonement has definitely come with a lot of recommendations! Too many books, too little time..

    @ anothercookie: Now I’m wishing I had 48 hours a day. Just so that I could have time to devour the many books that are coming with such good reviews. I’ve been waiting and waiting to read Sophie’s World, but I’ve just never got to the “I really want to read this NOW!” stage.

  • Susan says:

    Su, I loved The Great Gatsby, the book and the movie. But you have a lot of great reading choices here. The Five People You Meet in Heaven is very touching–I read that a few years ago.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading RRC #2 at su[shu].

meta

