RIP IV Reading Challenge

August 27, 2009 § 6 Comments

rip4Carl V. is hosting a reading challenge! It’s supposed to start on the 1st of September through till OCtober 31st (which is 2 months), but he has decided to break the rules and start this challenge now.

So what is this challenge?

R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril (or for short, RIP).

It’s basically a challenge to read books that cover genres like: mystery, suspense, thriller, dark fantasy, gothic, horror and the supernatural.

I don’t usually do books from this genre, but since Carl is so nice to offer different levels for this challenge, I’m thinking I’ll take this challenge, and go for… Peril The Third, which means I only need to read one book from the subgenres mentioned above.

It definitely sounds like fun, and gives me that extra kick in the backside to try out some other genres which I otherwise would not read. It might end up that I really like what I’m reading, and discover a whole new world of literature!

So, if there are any good books that come highly recommended, do leave me a comment. I have no idea where to start, but excited nonetheless.

§ 6 Responses to RIP IV Reading Challenge

  • deslily says:

    I highly recommend The Thirteenth Tale. It’s a “gothic type” mystery about a woman who is writing the biography of a well known author..who has.. many secrets in her past!

  • Carl V. says:

    I am so glad you are joining in! Yay!!!

    The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield is a book that I highly recommend. Several of us read it the first year it came out and others have since and more often than not people seem to be quite taken with it.

    Audrey Niffenegger’s new book, Her Fearful Symmetry, comes out at the end of the month and bloggers who have gotten ARCs and read them have all raved about it. I’ll be reading a borrowed ARC of it very soon myself.

    I read, but have yet to review, The Manual of Detection, a fabulous and bizarre steampunk-ish mystery debut novel by Jedidiah Berry. Very good read.

  • Susan says:

    I’ve also joined this challenge! There are so many books that fit into this challenge, and I think it’ll be a lot of fun.

  • su says:

    Oh look! Two recommendations already, for The Thirteenth Tale. I must go hunt it down in the local libraries then.

  • melanie says:

    you can always try a classic, like Dracula, Frankenstein, or Dr. Jekel and Mr. Hyde.

  • su says:

    @ Melanie: Now that you mention it, I’ve been meaning to read Dr Jekyll for a long long time now. Maybe I should be taking this chance to finally read it!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading RIP IV Reading Challenge at su[shu].

meta

