Random Reading Challenge #1

August 10, 2009 § 5 Comments

I currently have two books that I’m reading. One of it is Cradle to Cradle, which has a lot to do with sustainability in the modern world, closely related to my field of study, which is architecture. The second book I’m reading is Murakami’s after the quake, which I’m taking in slowly, one story a day, so that the stories have sufficient time to sink in, and for me to digest.

So at this point, I actually don’t know what fiction book to pick up! And straight away, I saw an opportunity to take one book off of my Random Reading Challenge, and simply choose the next fiction book randomly!

I got my sister to randomly pick books from my shelf of borrowed library books,  and so this is the list of books to choose from:

  1. The Namesake – Jhumpa Lahiri
  2. Casebook of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  3. The Pearl – John Steinbeck
  4. The Wild Sheep Chase – Haruki Murakami
  5. Binu and The Great Wall – Su Tong
  6. The Five People You Meet In Heaven – Mitch Albom
  7. Story of O – Pauline Reage
  8. Oranges are Not The Only Fruit – Jeanette Winterson
  9. Sophie’s World – Jostein Gaarder
  10. A Pale View of Hills – Kazuo Ishiguro

After consulting Random.org, it comes up with….. 1!

So the first book for this challenge is going to be The Namesake, which is also on my TBR list.

§ 5 Responses to Random Reading Challenge #1

  • claire says:

    I really loved The Namesake, hope you enjoy it!

  • claire says:

    P.S. I also liked A Pale View of Hills a lot. The Pearl and Sophie’s World I liked, too, but it was so long ago that I don’t know if I’ll feel the same if I read them now. I would like to reread Sophie’s World, just to reeducate myself with basic philosophy. I’ve tried a few other of Gaarder’s books but never got to finish another.

  • I found a beautiful hardcover copy of The Namesake in a second hand book shop last weekend. I’m really looking forward to reading it, as well as your thoughts on it. It’s gotten great reviews, so… should be fun! 🙂

  • By the way, I’ve also read Five People You Meet In Heaven and Sophie’s World. The latter is one of my favorite books of all time, so, I really hope you enjoy it as well.

  • su says:

    @ Claire: I’ve only gotten up to page 53, but am enjoying it so far. I’m liking the writing style already! As for Sophie’s World, I’ve heard so many good things about it, I’m actually quite keen to start on that one soon!

    @ anothercookiecrumbles: So, here comes another good thing being said about Sohpie’s World! Means that I absolutely have to read it after this then! And it’s great that you’ve found a beautiful second hand copy of The Namesake. I’d love to be able to buy as many books as I please one of these days, though I quite enjoy frequenting the library too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Random Reading Challenge #1 at su[shu].

meta

