Dracula – Bram Stoker

August 7, 2009 § 5 Comments

013

Having read The Historian earlier this year, I became quite interested in reading the first and original Dracula. I started off wondering how a classic thriller that is so well known would be like, and how reading it would feel like.

The story is told through journals and letters written by the different characters in the plot. It all starts unassuming enough, with a Jonathan Harker writing in his journal about his journey to Transylvania on business matters. It turns out that the client is Count Dracula.

Just the name “Dracula” is enough, really, to invoke feelings of suspense, fear and thrill in us contemporary people. We know, by whatever means be it through movies, cartoons or other books, that Dracula is a vampire, a blood-sucking UnDead. So even before I turned the first page, I already knew in my mind what I was in store for.

So I wondered to myself, when I reached the first quarter of the book, What would reading this book be like, if I didn’t already know what Dracula is?

Interestingly enough, though, I was kept in suspense right throughout the story. I never once felt like I knew more than what the characters in the story knew. In fact, knowing before hand a little bit about the story seemed to work in my favour, because I was always hoping that the characters themselves would find out the truth quickly, or I would silently send messages to them.

Every time I had to put the book down to do something else, I would realise (with surprise!) that my heart was beating a little faster than usual. The story stuck with me even while I was bathing, or eating, or just walking around. I found myself itching to continue reading.

Being written in the late 1800s, the language at times got to me. But other than that, it was one fantastic read.

Conclusion: Reading Dracula in winter really helps set the scene and mood. The physical cold contrasted with the warmth of the characters to the evil of Count Dracula, it all fit in to each other just nice.

§ 5 Responses to Dracula – Bram Stoker

  • Carl V. says:

    I cannot tell you how thrilled I am that you read and enjoyed this. Dracula is arguably my favorite novel of all time. I first read it when I was 11 or 12 and have read it many, many…..many times since then. I love it for its suspense, for the strength of the characters, for Stoker’s wonderful writing. For me it works on many levels and I always get a smile of satisfaction whenever someone reads it for the first time and enjoys it.

    I myself need to go and read The Historian. I started to last year and got distracted and took the book back to the library. I probably need to read that one this winter.

    And you are right, Dracula is ideal winter weather reading!

    • su says:

      @ Carl: Thanks for the comment. I think Dracula is going to be on my list of ‘books to read a second time’. It’s definitely worth it I think!

      The Historian does start off quite slow, it is a while before it starts to pick up. But I enjoyed the book in the end, and I hope you enjoy it too.

      @ Bellezza: Ah, I know what you mean! The image I can’t get out of my head is the one where Dracula holds Mina Harker’s head to his chest to force her to drink his blood! That one really got to me.

  • Bellezza says:

    I think it’s so funny that you and I both read The Historian first, then Dracula. I’ll never get him out of my mind, him coming as fog under the door…ew!

  • Mel says:

    I think I need to read Dracula soon. I read The Historian about six weeks ago. I liked it, but not without reservation. I in fact have recently reviewed it on my blog. The author has a new book coming out in Jan 2010. There is currently showing on The Biography Channel (available on Asian cable systems ) an interesting biography of Bram Stoker.

  • su says:

    Mel: Ah, I missed you review. Must pop by now and have a look at what you thought about The Historian.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dracula – Bram Stoker at su[shu].

meta

