2009 Lost in Translation Challenge

July 27, 2009 § 4 Comments

09litI found out about this reading challenge from Mark David’s book blog HERE, and I thought to myself, How interesting!

And that’s how I’ve ended up deciding to join this challenge too, in addition to the TBR Challenge, and another Japanese Literature 3 Challenge which is going to be up by the end of this week.

The Lost in Translation Challenge is to read 6 books in translation by the end of 2009. Sounds simple enough.

So again, I’m starting late. But I figure, why not?

This time though, I’m not going to put any of the Murakami books that I’m already planning to read, but some other books translated from some other languages. I found the 6 books on my list below from the 1001-Books-to-Read-Before-You-Die list.

  1. Almost Transparent Blue – Japanese (Ryu Murakami) ..[thoughts]
  2. The Unbearable Lightness of Being – Czech
  3. The Piano Teacher – German
  4. Of Love and Shadows – Spanish
  5. The Discovery of Heaven – Dutch
  6. The Devil and Miss Prym – Portuguese

I’m getting excited about this challenge. Really looking forward to reading those books now!

*

I’m adding here, on top of the books I’ve listed above, the other books that I’ve read that were translated.

  1. What I Talk About When I Talk About Running – Japanese (Haruki Murakami) ..[thoughts]
  2. after the quake – Japanese (Haruki Murakami) ..[thoughts]
  3. Sputnik Sweetheart – Japanese (Haruki Murakami) ..[thoughts]
  4. After Dark – Japanese (Haruki Murakami) ..[thoughts]
  5. N.P. – Japanese (Banana Yoshimoto) ..[thoughts]
  6. Shadow Family – Japanese (Miyuki Miyabe) ..[thoughts]
  7. The Wind-up Bird Chronicle – Japanese (Haruki Murakami) ..[thoughts]
  8. The Old Capital – Japanese (Yasunari Kawabata) ..[thoughts]
  9. Kinshu: Autumn Brocade – Japanese (Teru Miyamoto) ..[thoughts]
  10. Sophie’s World – Norwegian (Jostein Gaarder) ..[thoughts]
  11. Kappa – Japanese (Ryunosuke Akutagawa) ..[thoughts]
  12. Binu and the Great Wall – Chinese (Su Tong) ..[thoughts]
  13. A Quiet Life – Japanese (Kenzaburo Oe) ..[thoughts]
§ 4 Responses to 2009 Lost in Translation Challenge

  • Bellezza says:

    I loved The Unbearable Lightness of Being. It made me smile when you said that you weren’t going to put away any Murakami books, though. Me, neither! I love this challenge; it’s so exciting to read books from other cultures that my own.

    • su says:

      Yup! I joined this challenge so that it would get me to read books from other cultures too. I reckon reading is the best way to get to know different cultures and backgrounds, second only to personally visiting the place.

  • Mel says:

    How do you feel about using books for Two (or more challenges)-is it correct in the world of book blogging (I am a neophyte to this but have been a compulsive reader since age seven-a long time ago!)-could I for example read six translated Japanese novels for this challenge and the Japanese Literature Challenge? If so I would join it for sure and read four Japanese novels for it and one Flaubert and one Balzac and if I can get a copy of it the newly translated Book by the author of “The Elegance of Hedgehogs”, which I loved.

  • su says:

    Mel, I wouldn’t know, to be quite honest! I’m so new to book blogging that I’m probably the last person to ask. But I don’t think it’s a huge problem. It should be fine to read a single book that fits into more than just one challenge, unless specifically stated by the host I guess.

    Hope you do join this challenge though, it’s quite an interesting one.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 2009 Lost in Translation Challenge at su[shu].

meta

