2009 TBR Challenge

July 26, 2009 § 10 Comments

09tbrI have to say that I’m joining in this challenge pretty late, but I’m determined to at least join in ONE reading challenge this year. I think the TBR (To-Be-Read) Challenge is just the thing to get me started on reading challenges.

HERE, it says that the list has to be fixed before 1st January 2009, and reading only commences after that. But since I’m starting it today, I’m guessing that it’s alright to have the list fixed today, and the books read subsequently starting today, with the challenge ending 31st December 2009.

  1. Sophie’s World ..[thoughts]
  2. Thus Spoke Zarathustra
  3. The Namesake ..[thoughts]
  4. Dracula ..[thoughts]
  5. Of Mice and Men ..[thoughts]
  6. What I Talk About When I Talk About Running ..[thoughts]
  7. A Wild Sheep Chase
  8. The Wind Up Bird Chronicle ..[thoughts]
  9. Kafka on the Shore
  10. After Dark ..[thoughts]
  11. Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World
  12. Sputnik Sweetheart ..[thoughts]

7 out of the 12 are books by Haruki Murakami. I’m making it a point to read his books this year.

So there, now I’ve got no escaping reading those books. Let’s see how long it takes me.

*
Postscript: Orange-ed ones have been read.
§ 10 Responses to 2009 TBR Challenge

  • Mark David says:

    Welcome to the challenge Su! I see you’re planning to read a lot of Murakami. Though I’ve read only four of his books so far, he is one of my most favorite writers. I am usually left feeling just amazed after reading his stories. I hope you enjoy your Murakami experience 🙂

    By the way, there’s another challenge called The Japanese Reading Challenge 3 starting this July 30, hosted by Belleza. You might like to join it as well 🙂 Here’s the link to her blog:

    http://dolcebellezza.wordpress.com/

    • su says:

      Thanks for the welcome Mark! And thanks for the heads up about the Japanese Literature Challenge. I’m definitely interested in joining that challenge, and I’m waiting for July 30 to come!

  • Bellezza says:

    Su, I’m so glad you stopped by my blog! It’s really nice to meet you, and I’m making the Japanese Literature Challenge 3 very easy this year: read one book from July 30 until January 30. I used to ask for 3, but some people were very intimidated by Japanese literature, so to encourage them I’m saying, “Let’s read at least one!” You’ll find more details, and prizes, on my blog as Mark David directed you; the announcement is on Thursday.

    Anyway, I so want to read your list from 7 through 12. Murakami is so wonderful, I can’t get enough of him.

    Also, I read Dracula a few Octobers ago and found it the perfect autumnal read. It is such a good classic. If you like it, you may like to read The Historian afterward. Which is much thicker. 😉

    So, I hope to see you July 30, or before! Blessings, B.

    • su says:

      Hi Bellezza. It’s funny that you should suggest The Historian, because it was precisely because I’ve read that book that I’m now wanting to read Dracula! 🙂 It’s funny how we read books in all sorts of different chronologies.

      Anyway, looking forward to your announcement come Thursday!

  • Mark David says:

    I’ve long been interested in reading The Historian, Dracula, and Frankenstein. But perhaps I’ll put those in my list for next year 🙂

    • su says:

      We always put things off, don’t we? Ah, we readers are such procrastinators.. That’s why we’ve got an ever-growing stack of TBRs! 😉

  • Mark David says:

    Haha! You really hit me there. I’ve been a procrastinator long before I became a reader (which is pretty much just last year). But hopefully with the help of things like TBR lists, I’ll be able to work on it for the better 🙂 Have fun reading you two!

  • Bellezza says:

    You comment makes me smile: I, too, read The Historian first, and then wanted to read Dracula. We must be related!

    • su says:

      Ah! Now isn’t that interesting! Coincidence? Would definitely want to have a look at the list of books you’ve enjoyed now, so that I can get to know what other books are interesting.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 2009 TBR Challenge at su[shu].

meta

